Kickingbird Associates
HomeAbout UsNewsConsulting ServicesSeminarsPublicationsArticlesMyths About American IndiansQuotesLinksContact Us

Federal Recognition and Indian Tribes

All Native American groups within what is now the United States (nations, tribes, pueblos, communities, colonies) are descendants of the approximately 600 organized tribes inhabiting what is now the United States at the time the Europeans first came to this land. The U.S. has dealt with them through treaties, agreements, statutes, court decisions and executive orders. Federally-recognized tribes are those with whom the U.S. government affirms it has a formal “political” relationship which, in this case, it calls “the trust relationship.” Today there are some 560 federally-recognized tribes (333 in the lower 48 and 227 in Alaska).
“Indian Tribe” means an Indian or Alaska Native tribe, band, nation, pueblo, village, or community that the Secretary of the Interior acknowledges to exist as an Indian tribe pursuant to the Federally Recognized Indian Tribe List Act of 1994, 25 U.S.C. 479a.
See "Link" for listings of federally-recognized and non-recognized tribes elsewhere on this site. For more information on this topic see also: Unit 3 of Youth for Tribal Government

Chapter 3, Youth for Tribal Government by Kirke Kickingbird and Lynn Shelby Kickingbird
©2001, Kickingbird Associates

Send This Page Send This Page